First Bank pips CBN to Win 28th AFIFC

By Daily Sports on October 21, 2018

Views: 147

First Bank Football Club has emerged winners of the 2014 edition of the All Financial Institutions Football Competition (AFIFC) defeating hard fighting defending champions CBN Football Club by a slim score of 1-0 in a game decided at the Ilorin Township Stadium, Kwara State on Saturday, October 18, 2014.  The goal scored in the 67th minute of the game by number 14 jersey for First Bank, Gafaru Lasisi was all that made the difference in a pulsating encounter between both teams.

Speaking at the event, which was graced by the former Head Coach of the Super Eagles, Stephen Keshi, the CBN Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, CON, commended all the teams that participated in the competition, and stressed that the tournament was one of the Bank’s foremost and oldest Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) functions.

Mr. Emefiele, represented by the Director, Human Resources Department, CBN, Ms. Chizoba Mojekwu, reiterated the Bank’s commitment to make positive contributions towards the promotion and development of football in the country.

While lauding the increase in the number of financial institutions that registered in this year’s competition, he urged other institutions which are yet to register their presence in the competition to encourage their teams to register for the next year’s edition.

The Governor also thanked the Kwara State Government for making the stadium available, and the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) for mobilising financial institutions and ensuring a hitch-free competition.

He further acknowledged the contribution of the media and all the football fans for their excellent conduct during the competition.

The final match was preceded by the third place play-off between the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) FC, and the Ikeja Microfinance Bank FC, which ended 3-1 in favour of SEC via penalty shoot-out after the match ended goalless at regulation time.

This year’s winner went home with N2 million while the runners up and third placed teams received N1.5 million and N1 million, respectively. The fourth placed team received N500,000.

In attendance at the finals were representatives of Kwara State Government, officials of NFF, ex-Internationals, Abdulwahab Shola Akinwale and Wasiu Ipaye; the Branch Controller and staff of Ilorin Branch; CBN executives and staff; sports lovers; students from various schools in Ilorin; and the musical troupe of the Kwara State Government, which added colour to the event.

•Photo shows First Bank FC Captain receiving the trophy

Source Daily Sports

Posted October 21, 2018

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon Share on Google+


You may also like...
Obiri and TA LOU dominate in Asaba, Samaai...

Federer to meet Djokovic in Cincinnati final

Buhari, NFF must not joke with Nigeria’s 2018...

Ozil snubbed ‘crazy’ £1m-a-week offer for Arsenal stay...

Jesus Navas completes Sevilla return following Man City...

Woods says he was impressed by Trump's golf...


Latest News Afcon Qualifier: Rohr reveals Nigeria’s mission in Johannesburg We Won’t Underrate South Africa — Ahmed Musa Nigeria, Uganda clash on Tuesday (Nov. 20) in Asaba •Where you can get tickets Salah seals revenge win for Egypt against Tunisia Neymar: Arsenal really great under Emery Flying Eagles to play Ghana, Benin in WAFU Tourney Elkanemi Warriors Unveil Baba Ganaru As New Head Coach 250 golfers set to participate in Lagos Golf Open Football has been unfair to us, says Spain coach We are ready to end Nigeria’s AWCON dominance — Ghana Coach Hamilton wary of 2019 threat from Leclerc and Verstappen Nigeria fails anti-doping test


Most Read Rangers International going, going . . . (44,598 views) Amaju Pinnick: A cat with nine lives (36,673 views) Missing $150,000 IAAF Grant: Solomon Dalung’s Hide and Seek game (35,442 views) Sports Development: Zenith Bank on the zenith (34,596 views) Current issues in Nigerian sports: Matters arising (33,845 views) Gov. Abdullahi Ganduje’s solid footprints, commitment to sports development in Kano State (33,590 views) Commonwealth Games 2018: Shame of Muhammadu Buhari, Solomon Dalung (32,779 views) Second Term: Amaju Pinnick, Other NFF Heavyweights Home to Roost •How Pinnick Broke the Jinx (32,684 views) Olopade, BET9A wave of revolution in NNL (32,539 views) NFF Presidency: Pinnick, Maigari, Ogunjobi, Okoye in Battle for Supremacy (31,661 views) Ibrahimovic’s Man U exit: Whose decision is it? And in whose interest? (29,743 views) World Cup Friendlies: Eagles Beware! (28,978 views)




News Athletics (267) Basketball (131) Boxing (518) Columnists (354) Euro Soccer Update (3510) Fans Assembly (3) From the Grassroots (44) Golf (68) Interviews (14) Live Commentary (3) News (4475) NPL Glo Premier League (960) People and Places (22) Readers Parliament (5) Tennis (479)



Classic games


Phone numbers

Tel: +234(0)8066020976

Email addresses

Office address

No 3, Adetoun Close, Off College Road, Ogba, Ikeja Lagos.

Social Media