Musa, Ighalo, Akinwunmi, Gov. Okowa Emerge Pitch Award Winners; Ordega Dethrones Oshoala

By Daily Sports on June 11, 2019

Views: 438

Super Eagles striker and Al Nassr sensation Ahmed Musa and Super Falcons player Francisca Ordega both won the top prizes of King and Queen of the Pitch last night at the 6th award ceremony of the Nigeria Pitch Awards.

The award ceremony which held after the international friendly between the Super Eagles of Nigeria and the Warriors of Zimbabwe was attended by Seyi Akinwunmi, First Vice President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Ahmed Fresh, NFF Board member, Mr. Chiedu Ebie, Secretary to the Delta State Government, Mr. Olayinka Adeleke, State Police Commissioner, Coach, technical crew and members of the Super Eagles.

Speaking at the ceremony, Akinwunmi, who represented NFF President Amaju Pinnick, commended the organisers of the awards, stressing that putting an award together required a lot of effort. He reiterated the support of the Federation for the Pitch Awards.

Mr Shina Philips, President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, expressed appreciation of the organisers to the Federation and the Delta State Government. He said the organisers remained committed to giving Nigerians transparent and credible awards.

“We will continue to do what is right because we believe our players need to be motivated by a transparent and credible reward system which will see then earn the respect of everyone in the football community,” Philips said.

In the Defender of the Year category, William Troost-Ekong of Udinese shrugged off competition from teammates Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo. In the Goalkeeper’s category, Anorthosis Famagusta goalkeeper Francis Uzoho beat last year’s winner, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Enyimba International goalie Theophilus Afelokhai to win the prize for the first time. Leicester City midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi retained the Midfielder of the Year award and Odion Ighalo the Shanghai Shenhua forward was voted the Striker of the Year.

The Sam Okwaraji Award for commitment to Nigeria Football has been one of the high points of previous Awards Ceremonies. Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi, the First Vice President of the NFF and Chairman Lagos FA last night joined Amaju Pinnick and Dr. Ifeanyi Ubah as winners of the prestigious Sam Okwaraji Award. The NFF President had won the previous two editions. Oil giant, Aiteo Group retained the Corporate Sponsor of Football award. Enugu Rangers Coach, Gbenga Ogunbote won the Coach of the Year award while his team carted home the Club of the Year award. Nigeria’s national women team, Super Falcons were voted the Best National Team.

In the media category, Samuel Ahmadu of emerged the maiden winner of the Football Journalist of the Year (Online). Other winners are Johnny Edwards of Complete Sports who was named Football Journalist of the Year (Print), Mozez Praiz of Supersport won the Football Journalist of the Year (TV) and Tony Bekederemo of Brila Sports Radio was voted winner of the Football Journalist of the Year (Radio).

Full List of winners

Goalkeeper of the Year                        -         Francis Odinaka Uzoho

Defender of the Year                           -         William Troost-Ekong

Midfielder of the Year                         -         Wilfred Ndidi

Striker of the Year                               -         Odion Ighalo

MVP in NPFL                                     -         Junior Lokosa

MVP in the NWFL                              -         Rasheedat Ajibade

Queen of the Pitch                               -         Francisca Ordega

King of the Pitch                                  -         Ahmed Musa

Coach of the Year                                -         Gbenga Ogunbote

Club of the Year                                  -         Enugu Rangers

National Team of the Year                   -         Super Falcons

Referee of the Year                              -         Adebimpe Quadri

Sam Okwaraji Awards                         -         Seyi Akinwunmi

State with the Best Grassroots Football Dev. Prog.  - Lagos State

Football Friendly Gov. of the Year      -         Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa

Football Journalist of the Year (Print) -         Johnny Edwards

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio)-         Tony Bekederemo

Football Journalist of the Year (TV)    -         Mozez Praiz

Football Journalist of the Year (Online) -      Samuel Ahmadu

Corporate Sponsor of Football            -         AITEO Group

•Photo shows, from left; Delta State Police Commissioner Adeyinka Adeleke, Super Eagles Captain Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa, 2018 King of the Pitch, Esther-Whyte Bassey, Mr. Chiedu Ebie, Secretary to the Delta State Government and Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi, First Vice President of the NFF at the 6th Nigeria Pitch Award Ceremony in Asaba

Source Daily Sports

Posted June 11, 2019


You may also like...
Olisema tips title chasing Akwa United to up...

Lobi Stars fall to Akwa United

Pillars vs Ikorodu Utd Match Commissioner dies in...

Nigeria, Egypt kick off an hour later

Chile 2015 U-17 World Cup: We are ready...

Obaseki’s Battle Cry: SAVE OUR FOOTBALL NOW!


Latest News Weah Named Africa’s Best Ever Player Jay-Jay Okocha Takes 7th Spot Lampard favoured to land coaching job at Chelsea Mikel: This Could Be My Last Nations Cup Awoniyi Unhappy with AFCON Snub PSG to Kick Off Ligue 1 Title Defence against Nimes Striker Gift Evbomwan Turning Heads for Nigeria Under-16 as Future Eagles Record Mixed Results at International Dreams Cup in Japan NBA: Toronto Raptors’ Victory Is for Africa — Eto’o Suarez ‘Wanted to Disappear' after Barca Champions League Exit Semenya Denied Entry into Rabat 800 Metres Race AC Milan Appoint Maldini and Boban in Backroom Revamp Nigeria drops three places in latest Fifa ranking Sarri finally lands Juventus job, leaves Chelsea


Most Read Rangers International going, going . . . (45,473 views) Amaju Pinnick: A cat with nine lives (37,541 views) Missing $150,000 IAAF Grant: Solomon Dalung’s Hide and Seek game (36,164 views) Sports Development: Zenith Bank on the zenith (35,709 views) Gov. Abdullahi Ganduje’s solid footprints, commitment to sports development in Kano State (34,721 views) Current issues in Nigerian sports: Matters arising (34,646 views) Second Term: Amaju Pinnick, Other NFF Heavyweights Home to Roost •How Pinnick Broke the Jinx (33,912 views) Olopade, BET9A wave of revolution in NNL (33,743 views) Commonwealth Games 2018: Shame of Muhammadu Buhari, Solomon Dalung (33,452 views) NFF Presidency: Pinnick, Maigari, Ogunjobi, Okoye in Battle for Supremacy (32,648 views) John Mikel Obi: Segun Odegbami’s Outrageous Call! (30,628 views) Ibrahimovic’s Man U exit: Whose decision is it? And in whose interest? (30,486 views)




News Athletics (286) Basketball (170) Boxing (552) Columnists (445) Euro Soccer Update (4971) Fans Assembly (3) From the Grassroots (46) Golf (73) Interviews (14) Live Commentary (4) News (5024) NPL Glo Premier League (1028) People and Places (22) Readers Parliament (6) Tennis (555)




Phone numbers

Tel: +234(0)8066020976

Email addresses

Office address

No 3, Adetoun Close, Off College Road, Ogba, Ikeja Lagos.

Social Media